Fight your traffic ticket now!

  • Get MATCHED to a Local Lawyer
  • Speeding, DUI/DWI, Reckless Driving
  • NO Credit Card Collected

Suspended Driver's License in Virginia

What is Driver's License Suspension

Suspension of your license means a temporary withdrawal of your privilege to operate a motor vehicle in the state of Virginia. Your Virginia driver's license may be suspended for a specific length of time, depending on your driving record, and the specific violation(s). To get your license back, you must first comply with the terms of your suspension, including all reinstatement requirements.

Reasons for Suspension

A driver's license may be suspended for various reasons including:

  • Failing to pay court fines and costs for convictions for motor vehicle related or non-motor vehicle related violations.

  • Failing to:

-Properly insure and maintain insurance coverage, as required by law, on a motor vehicle that was issued valid license plates, or

-Pay the required uninsured motor vehicle fee.

  • Failing to complete a driver improvement clinic.

  • Failing to pay child support.

  • A court order based on a reckless driving conviction.

  • Providing alcohol to a minor or intoxicated person.

  • Excessive accumulation of demerit points related to convictions for traffic violations (Driver Improvement (DI) Program).

  • The presence of a physical and/or mental condition that impairs your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.

  • Failing to satisfy an outstanding judgment related to a motor vehicle crash.

  • Engaging in reckless driving, and found to be guilty in a fatal accident, or if you abandon your vehicle on a public highway.

  • Driving with a suspended license or no license at all. If you drive with a suspended license the length of the suspension will be increased, and you may also be imprisoned.

  • Driving without insurance. Failure to provide proof of valid auto insurance can result in license suspension.

What to do in case of Suspension

If your driver's license has been suspended for some of the reasons listed above, we advise you to speak with a DUI/DWI lawyer. Remember, you are not permitted to drive while your license is suspended. For more information about this see our DUI Lawyers section.

Driver's License Reinstatement

To reinstate your driving privileges you will have to comply to one, or in some cases, several requirements. In some cases you can reinstate your license without going at a DMV customer service center:

  • Provide proof that court fines and costs have been paid.

  • Provide DMV with an SR22 or FR44 (Certification of Insurance) from an insurance company licensed to do business in Virginia.

  • Attend a driver improvement clinic.

  • Provide DMV with a medical report from a physician/physician's assistant/nurse practitioner; and/or a vision report from an ophthalmologist/optometrist.

  • Provide proof of enrollment in, and completion of, the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP).

  • Complete an intervention interview with VASAP.

  • Comply with child support orders issued by the Department of Social Services, Division of Child Support Enforcement.

  • Provide the DMV with requested motor vehicle insurance policy information.

  • Provide the DMV with proof of a judgment satisfied in full, payment agreement, creditor's consent, or bankruptcy filing.

  • Pay the reinstatement fees that can range from $40.00 to $220.00, depending on the suspension.

  • Pay the required licensing fees.

Visiting a DMV center, to get your license back, is required when you have to:

  • Provide proof of identification, residency, and/or legal presence.

  • Take any applicable knowledge and road skills tests.

  • Provide a court order allowing restricted driving privileges.

The fee you need to pat to reinstate your suspended license, is between $45 and $160, depending on the reason for the suspension. You can pay online, in person at a DMV office, or you can also mail a check or money order to this address:

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, VA 23269

Note: From July 1, 2011, in addition to the reinstatement fee, Virginia law requires payment of a $5 fee for each additional suspension or revocation order in effect when reinstating your driving license. This fee is considered as a Multiple Order Fee.