VA-DMV.com offers FREE auto insurance quotes from multiple providers

License Plates

Driving without license plates is illegal. So, if your license plates are lost, stolen or damaged they must be replaced. In case both plates are stolen/lost they must be replaced with a new plates, as duplicates will not be made.

Replacing license plates by mail

To replace your plates you must first fill in an Vehicle Registration Application. After you fill in the application send it along with the replacement fee of $10 per plate, to this address:

Virginia DMV

Attn: Titles and Registration Work Center

P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269

Replacing in person

If you choose to replace your license plates in person, just take your completed application form and the required fee to your nearest DMV Customer Service Center.

Custom license plates

In the state of Virginia there are more than 180 styles of custom license plate designs, that you can choose from. The custom plates can represent universities, military, civic organizations, etc. See the different license plates designs here.

Also, you can select personalized license plates by yourself, using your own combination of up to seven letters and/or numbers. Check here to see if your required personalized plate is valid or available. Order your custom license plates by completing the application form and sending it, along with the required fee, to this address:

Virginia DMV

Attn: Titles and Registration Work Center

P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269

You can also order your plates online, or in person by taking the completed application form along with the fee, to your nearest DMV Customer Service Center.

Note: For disabled drivers, you will need to complete the special Disabled License Plates Application Form.

License plates in the process of buying/selling a vehicle

The Virginia Law says that you must remove your license plates when selling your vehicle. The plates can be transfered to any replacement vehicle, or returned to any DMV Customer Service Center where they will be recycled. You can also destroy them and dispose them yourself. However, you are required to notify the Department that you no longer own the vehicle. This can be done online, by phone or at a DMV Customer Service Center.

Those who have moved out of Virginia, do not have to surrender their plates to the Virginia DMV, although is it advisable to do so. After moving out of the state, send your license plates to the following address:

Virginia DMV

Attn: Titles and Registration Work Center

P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269

Take your plates to any DMV Customer Service Center. You may be entitled for a refund of your registration fees, if you have at least 6 months remaining on your registration when you surrender your plates. This is the form you need to use when requesting a refund.

Costs

The costs for replacing your license plates or obtaining new ones, vary depending on the type of the plate. They can cost $10, $25 or $50 annually, or a one time fee of $10, $25 or $50, depending on the plate design. For personalized plates you will have to pay an additional $10 annually. For disabled license plates the fee is $5. Contact the DMV Customer Service Center for more details.